Sunday Salad: A fun way to have delicious healthy salads all week!

Cell 2013 July 592

One of the hardest parts for me trying to eat a real food, healthy life is time and counteracting my lazy gene so for me one of the most important things to do is to prepare food on Sundays for the week. I put together snack bags of veggies, fruit, popcorn, and nuts. I make taco chicken and soup, but my favorite thing to do is make Sunday Salad! It’s healthy, easy, and has a fun name! For Sunday Salad I make my FAVORITE garden salad, and I make a lot of it! I then have salads ready to go for me and my family all week. Yeah, yeah, I know they sell pre-made salads in the grocery store, however these salads have tons of fake preservatives and other junk in them and are a lot more expensive than making your own. It is super easy to make multiple salads at once and I always feel so great when I am eating a Sunday Salad instead of tempting take-out on Thursday night when I’m exhausted from work. It’s also kind of fun yet balancing to spend a little quite time chopping vegetables on a Sunday, reflecting on my mindset, on the thoughts and feelings that come with purposefully living in the healthiest way that works for me. Here’s how to make Sunday Salad!

I use all of my favorite vegetables, but you can add and delete as you like. This garden salad is so delicious and healthy. It has tons of great flavors and is satisfying for a lunch or dinner side.

Ingredients:

* baby spring mix

* romaine lettuce

* broccoli head

*red onion

* mushrooms

* green pepper

* cherry tomatoes

Directions:

1. Chop the broccoli into small pieces. If you chop the stalk/stem off, the broccoli head will fall into small pieces.

2. Dice the green pepper, mushrooms, and red onion. I like about 1/2 inch pieces.

3. Mix all veggies into a food storage container and seal. Store in the fridge until you are ready to enjoy. Toss with your preferred dressing and feel satisifed with your deliciously healthy choice

 Check out the links below for some other great, quick and easy salad ideas!

Leave a Reply

