Spring Wreath Making!!

I love Spring!! The colors, smells, and the feeling that new life is all around you. I wanted to kick-off Spring with the making of a Spring wreath. My husband thought this was odd, that wreaths were only for Christmas. I quickly used Google to show him how wrong he was and then headed to the craft store with my friends. We of course had to have a girls craft night to make wreaths because crafting alone is oh so boring. My FAVORITE craft store in Washington is Artco. It isn’t a chain (score) and not only sells materials, but has tons of amazingly cute displays all over their store showing how to use craft supplies to make marvelous things. Here is a link to their website http://artcocrafts.com/

I had never made a wreath before so I was a bit intimidated by the whole thing, but I’m pretty handy with a hot glue gun so I figured if all else fails, I’ll just hot glue the shit out of the wreath and throw some “springy” things into the puddles of hot glue. However, once I got started, I realized that wreath making is not as hard as it seems.

I knew I wanted some flowers and some birds on my Spring wreath. I found this adorable little owl at Artco and I used the colors on the owl to tie the wreath components together. I wrapped colored burlap and this whimsical, pom-pom ribbon around the wreath frame. I stuck fake flowers and butterflies into the side. Of course I hot glued the adorable owl and a nest onto the frame. Finally I used scrapbook paper to make the words. Not too bad for my first wreath! I think I might need to make one for each season!

February 2013 370

Leave a Reply

