Flowering Canvas

I was inspired by a Pinterest post for this craft project. I loved it because it honed in that sense of nature I want instilled in my home and it was easy to customize to match my living room color palette. To see the original post, here is the link

http://media-cache-ec2.pinterest.com/upload/212372938647918637_IkBvSgBX.jpg

The materials for this project were inexpensive and easy to find. You need:

  • a canvas (I re-used an old one)
  • an acrylic paint for the base (I chose white)
  • glitter paint (optional, but who doesn’t love glitter!)
  • scrapbook paper of various colors
  • Mod Podge

First, you need to paint the base coat on your canvas. I chose white with a glittery topcoat. You can really choose any color that matches your decor and goes with the scrapbook paper colors. I suggest a contrasting color. Light paint and dark paper or dark paint and light paper, but for a more subtle look you could go with complimentary colors or even mono-chromatic!

While the paint dries, cut  petal shapes out of the the scrapbook paper. When I first cut them, I made the traditional petal shape with a flat bottom. Epic fail! The flat bottom did produce a flowy energy on the canvas. So I remembered the lifeskill of  perseverance we all learned as children and, after taking a week long break and re-starting, I cut the correct shape. They turned out fabulous! Petals of various sizes are important. I’m not exactly a template sort of gal, I kind of go with it and see what the universe gives me so each petal are unique. They range from 2 inches to 5 inches. . . or so 🙂 I used about 30 petals on my 16 by 20 canvas, but cut many more so that I would have lots of options in arrangement.
Now you simply lay out your petal design. I redid mine quite a few times to get the layout I liked. You can do the flower starting in the middle. I chose to do mine starting on the edge and branching out.
Finally, you use Mod Podge to glue and seal the canvas. Mod Podge is a great glue and leaves the canvas with a shiny surface. I used one layer to glue the petals down, going petal by petal. I lifted the petal up, slathered on Mod Podge, placed the petal back on the canvas and then covered it completely with Mod Podge. The Mod Podge will look whitish over your paper, but don’t worry! It dries clear and shiny! After the first layer dries, cover the whole canvas again with Mod Podge to finish and seal it. Wow! I’ve never typed Mod Podge so many times.
Voila! You now have a piece for you walls that is totally customized and totally you. Doesn’t it feel good to let your creative juices flow 🙂
Leave a Reply

